UNESCO's UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs programmepromotes international inter-university cooperation and networking to enhance institutional capacities through knowledge sharing and collaborative work.

The Programme supports the establishment of UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks in key priority areas related to UNESCO’s fields of competence – i.e. in education, the natural and social sciences, culture and communication.

Through this network, higher education and research institutions all over the globe pool their resources, both human and material, to address pressing challenges and contribute to the development of their societies. In many instances, the Networks and Chairs serve as think tanks and as bridge builders between academia, civil society, local communities, research and policy-making. They have proven useful in informing policy decisions, establishing new teaching initiatives, generating innovation through research and contributing to the enrichment of existing university programmes while promoting cultural diversity. In areas suffering from a dearth of expertise, Chairs and Networks have evolved into poles of excellence and innovation at the regional or sub-regional levels. They also contribute to strengthening North-South-South cooperation.

Today, the Programme involves over 700 institutions in 126 countries.

In the area of ceanography, Coastal Area Management and Marine Science there are currently 14 Chairs:

 Chair Title   
Canada Chaire UNESCO en analyse intégrée des systèmes marins Aug 2010 Université du Québec à Rimouski
Dr Jean-Claude Brêthes 
Chile UNESCO Chair in Coastal Oceanography  Nov 1993 Universidad de Concepción,
Concepción - WEB
Dr Silvio Pantoja Gutiérrez 
China UNESCO/IOC Chair on Ocean and Urban Development  Jan 2014

East China Normal University,
Putuo District, Shanghai - WEB

Prof Ren Youqun 
Germany UNESCO Chair in Marine Geology and Coastal Management  Dec 1997 Christian Albrechts University of Kiel-Cluster of Excellence "Future Ocean", 
Prof Karl Stattegger 
Latvia UNESCO Chair in Sustainable Coastal Development  Sep 2001 Institute for Environmental Science and Management, University of Latvia (IESAM),
Riga - WEB
Prof Raimonds Ernsteins 
Morocco Chaire UNESCO pour la formation et la recherche en sciences de la mer  May 1994 Université Ibn Tofaïl,
Dr Aziza Mouradi-Givernaud 
Mozambique UNESCO Chair in Marine Sciences and Oceanographic Issues  Jan 1998 Universidade Eduardo Mondlane,
Dr Antonio Mubango Hoguane 
Russian Federation UNESCO Chair in Remote Sensing and Modeling in Oceanography  Apr 2006 The Russian State Hydrometeorological University,
St Petersburg 
Dr Bertrand Chapron 
Russian Federation UNESCO Chair in Marine Ecology  Dec 1998 Far Eastern Federal University (FEFU),
Vladivostok-Primorsky krai 
Dr Sergey Ivanets 
Russian Federation UNESCO Chair in Marine Geology and Geophysics  Apr 1994 Moscow State University,
Prof Dr Grigorii Akhmanov 
Senegal Chaire UNESCO en gestion côtière intégrée et développement durable  Apr 1997 Université Cheikh Anta Diop,
Prof Mamadou Kandji 
Spain UNESCO Chair in Sustainable Coastal Zone Management  May 2014 Universidad de Vigo,
Vigo (Pontevedra) 
Prof Salustiano Mato de la Iglesia 
Sudan UNESCO Chair on Marine Biology and Oceanography  Nov 2006 The Sudan Institute for Natural Sciences (SIFNS), Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research,
Prof Elhag AbuGabr Elhag 
(United Republic of)

UNESCO Chair in marine technology

Jan 2009 The University of Dar Es Salaam,
Prof R.S. Mukandala 


Subscribe to our Mailing List


Go to top